Taxonomy: families
Home - Taxonomy - Geography - Biodiversity - Literature  

Snakes (Serpentes)


Thorn-tailed Thread Snakes

Neotropical Thread Snakes

Collared Thread Snake

Typical Thread Snakes

Hispaniola Thread Snakes

Many-scaled Thread Snakes

Southwest African Thread Snakes

Maroon Thread Snakes

West African Long-tailed Thread Snake

West African Sharp-nosed Thread Snake

Mandible-toothed Thread Snakes

Lesser Antillean Thread Snakes

West African Forest Thread Snakes

Three-scaled Thread Snakes

Citation: Midtgaard, Rune. RepFocus - A Survey of the Reptiles of the World. (
Latest update: December 31st, 2022.

Biodiversity of the family Leptotyphlopidae Bibliography of the family Leptotyphlopidae


Thread Snakes
Fadenschlangen*, Schlankblindschlangen     Trådslanger

Contents: Endemicity:
14 genera of which 2 (14.3%) are endemic  0% 100%
144 species of which 77 (53.5%) are endemic  0% 100%

Remarks: Until recently, all species of this family, except Rhinoleptus koniagui, were included in the genus Leptotyphlops. Adalsteinsson, Branch, Trape, Vitt & Hedges (2009) revised the systematics of the family, recognizing twelve valid genera. Wallach (2003) recommended the restriction of the name Worm Snakes to the family Leptotyphlopidae, whereas the family Typhlopidae should be called Blind Snakes. Although the latter suggestion has been followed in most publications, both since and before Wallach's suggestion, the former has not. Currently, most works have retained the name Thread Snakes for the familiy Leptotyphlopidae (e.g., Crother (ed.) 2008; Liner & Casas-Andreu 2008), presumably because the name Thread Snakes has only been used for this family, whereas Worm Snake has been used for both, as well as for other snake genera (e.g., Carphophis, Trachischium, Gerrhopilus).

Distribution:  North America, Central America, South America, West Indies, Africa, Middle East, SW. Asia.

Reported from:
Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Bolivia, Bonaire, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Ivory Coast, Jordan, Kenya, Lesotho, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Martinique, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Surinam, Tanzania, Togo, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, USA, Venezuela, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.